Whitney M. Young Jr. Awards Banquet – April 15

We would like to invite all scouts and scouts to attend the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Awards Banquet on Friday, April 15, 2016, at the Jackson Center, starting at 6:00pm.  The purpose of the Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award (a National Scouting Award) is to recognize outstanding services by an adult individual or an organization for demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for youth from rural or low – income urban backgrounds— this is in fulfillment of Dr. Young’s dream of justice and equality for all.

This year, the awardees for the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award (National level Award) are:

  • Annette Ikard
  • Joyce Abrams Lane
  • Renan Scott
  • Darryl Hinson
  • Tony White

Awardees for the Community Service Award include:

  • Ernest Smith
  • L.C. Smith
  • Teresa Batts
  • L.R. Spearman

Tickets are available at the Scout Office for $25/person.  Please try to get them by Tuesday, 12 April, so we can get final headcount for meals.

You may submit a deserving adult or organization by filling out this application and submitting it to the council service center.


Jim Charlton

Talakto District Commissioner

WMY, Jr. Awards Banquet Committee