Whitney M. Young Jr. Awards Banquet

Talakto Scouters,

Due to the uncertainty of when we will have the ability to host groups in larger numbers, we have moved the Whitney M. Young, Jr. Awards Banquet to Friday, 21 August, still at the Jackson Center.  Tickets are still available at the scout office and sponsorship of tables are also still available.  

Our guest speaker is Captain (Ret.) Mike Rose, Medal of Honor recipient, as well as Committee Chair for Troop 7340, Good Shepherd Catholic Church, with Talakto District.  

Honorees include:
WMY Service Award 
   1. Akaose Ibeaji- Troop 400
   2. Cindi Purinton- Troop 94
   3. Kim Jones – Troop 947
   4. Mike Wallace- Home Depot

Community Service Award 
    1. Eula Battle,  Mayor Tommy Battle’s wife & former teacher
    2. Coach Jack Doss, former Mae Jemison and Butler HS Basketball 
    3. Justin Lockett- JML Foundation 
    4.  Pastor Gary Liederbach- Toney United Methodist Church 
    5.  Alpha Ensemble 
    6. Tyler Gomez – Troop 94 & Unit Commissioner

Hope to see many there.  Thanks.

Jim Charlton
Talakto District Commissioner
UESLC Committee